Weekly choice, by peers

Are you the perfectionist type?

Perfectionist-color“Taken to the extreme, perfectionism becomes a disorder. Burns shares the wild example of an attorney who became obsessed with getting his hair “just right.” He spent hours in front of the mirror with his scissors and comb making adjustments until his hair was just an eighth of an inch long. Then he became obsessed with getting his hairline exactly right and he shaved it a little more every day until his hair receded back so far he was bald. He would then wait for his hair to grow back and the pattern continued again. Eventually his desire to have the perfect hair led him to cut back on his legal practice in order to continue his obsession. This is an extreme example to be sure, but there are less severe ways in which our own perfectionism leads us to major in minor activities? Have you ever obsessed over a report when your boss said it was already plenty good enough? Have you ever lost an object of little importance but just had to keep looking for it? Do colleagues often tell you, “Just let it go”?”

http://blogs.hbr.org/2013/10/today-just-be-average/

.

Writing is living.. twice!

Writing is not an easy task, yet we all like to do it, each one in its own fashion, style and mode. Some as a hobby, others are professionals (or trying to be), ones simply for the catharsis effect and there are those for passing time. Then if so many do it, how come there are only a few that are so good at it?

So for those of you who need a short reminder for some basic advices, here are some of the best:

Pixar published a set of 22 great rules of how to approach a story, here’s Pixar’s 22 Rules of Storytelling Presented with Film Stills.

You may want to know some advices of the best writers, well, for that I present to you the hall of fame writer tips from F. Scott Fitzgerald on How to Write Fiction. The next one is Kurt Vonnegut’s 8 Tips on How to Write a Great Story.

And last yet surely not least is a short video with Ricky Gervais telling us a story about how he learned to write:

.

From poverty to wealth

A personal story that is by far a wonderful example for an difficult experience that turns to some of the better life lessons. In professional terms we may call it post-traumatic growth.

“We had no real kitchen (it was just a room), no running water or indoor bathroom, no TV or telephone. (No, I did not grow up with the dinosaurs). We did have electric lights.What did I learn by growing up in these conditions?  I learned to share and to take good care of what little I had and be grateful. I learned to use my imagination, to eat until I was not hungry any more rather that when I was stuffed. I learned that it was the people that made a home, not the size of a house. I learned to work together. “

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/6-lessons-poor-childhood-lead-rich-life/

.

TED’s best for the week:

Trivia whiz Ken Jennings has made a career as a keeper of facts; he holds the longest winning streak in history on the U.S. game show Jeopardy. But in 2011, he played a challenge match against supercomputer Watson — and lost. With humor and humility, Jennings tells us how it felt to have a computer literally beat him at his own game, and also makes the case for good old-fashioned human knowledge.

watson_computer

“The great 18th-century British theologian and thinker, friend of Dr. Johnson, Samuel Parr once said, “It’s always better to know a thing than not to know it.” And if I have lived my life by any kind of creed, it’s probably that. I have always believed that the things we know — that knowledge is an absolute good, that the things we have learned and carry with us in our heads are what make us who we are, as individuals and as a species.”

http://www.ted.com/talks/ken_jennings_watson_jeopardy_and_me_the_obsolete_know_it_all.html

.

Person of the week! Charles Bukowski

“Like anybody can tell you, I am not a very nice man. I don’t know the word. I have always admired the villain, the outlaw, the son of a bitch. I don’t like the clean-shaven boy with the necktie and the good job. I like desperate men, men with broken teeth and broken minds and broken ways. They interest me. They are full of surprises and explosions. I also like vile women, drunk cursing bitches with loose stockings and sloppy mascara faces. I’m more interested in perverts than saints. I can relax with bums because I am a bum. I don’t like laws, morals, religions, rules. I don’t like to be shaped by society.”

Leave a Reply

